TEXAS HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION
RATE ANALYSIS DEPARTMENT

July 6, 2015

Proposed Payment Rates for the following programs:

Community First Choice
Day Activity and Health Services
Medically Dependent Children Program
Primary Home Care — Non-priority
Residential Care
Proxy rates for attendant services under STAR+PLUS Home and Community-
based Services
Associated Consumer Directed Services

Payment rates are proposed to be effective
September 1, 2015



SUMMARY OF PROPOSED PAYMENT RATES

Effective September 1, 2015

The Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) will conduct a public hearing at 9:00 a.m.
on July 15, 2015, in the Public Hearing Room in the Brown Heatly Building, 4900 N. Lamar
Boulevard, Austin, Texas, with entrance through Security at the front of the building facing
Lamar Boulevard. Public comments will be received on proposed base rate increases for
attendant services provided under the following programs operated by the Department of Aging
and Disability Services (DADS):

Day Activity and Health Services (DAHS)
Medically Dependent Children Program (MDCP)
Primary Home Care (PHC)

Residential Care (RC)

e Associated Consumer Directed Services (CDS)

The hearing will also receive public comment on proposed base rate increases for certain
attendant and habilitation services provided under the Community First Choice (CFC) program
operated by DADS and HHSC:

e CFC State Plan - Attendant and Habilitation
e Associated Consumer Directed Services (CDS)

Lastly, the hearing will receive public comment on proposed base rate increases for the proxy
rate for attendant servicesused in the calculation of the STAR+PLUS managed care capitation
rates for the Home and Community-based Services (HCBS) risk group:

e Proxy Community Based Alternatives (CBA) Personal Assistance Services (PAS)
e Associated Consumer Directed Services (CDS)

All payment rates are proposed to be effective September 1, 2015.

HHSC will consider concerns expressed at the hearing prior to final rate approval. This public
hearing is held in compliance with Human Resources Code §32.0282 and Texas Administrative
Code (TAC) Title 1, §8355.105(g), which require public notice and hearings on proposed
Medicaid reimbursements before such rates are approved by HHSC.



PROPOSED RATES

HHSC proposes to increase the base rates in the following programs along with the associated
CDS rates. Foreach program, the entire increase is included in the attendant/habilitation cost
area portion of the total rate.

Program Current Rate Proposed Rate
CFC State Plan — Attendant & Habilitation $12.62 $12.69
CDS CFC State Plan — Attendant & Habilitation $11.82 $11.89
DAHS $14.24 $14.30
PHC — NP $11.08 $11.23
CDS PHC — NP $10.28 $10.43
RC — Apartment $39.35 $39.51
RC — Non-Apartment $30.69 $30.85
MDCEP:
- Respite and Flexible Family Support

provided by attendant without delegation $11.79 $11.95
- Respite and Flexible Family Support

provided by attendant with delegation $12.79 $12.95
- Respite and Flexible Family Support

provided by an attendant (CDS) $10.99 $11.15
Proxy CBA Personal Assistance Services (PAS) $11.33 $11.49
CDS Proxy CBA PAS $10.99 $11.15

METHODOLOGY AND JUSTIFICATION

The proposed payment rates incorporate provisions in the 2016-17 General Appropriations Act
that included funds to support increases in the base wages of personal attendants to $8.00 per
hour. See General Appropriations Bill, 84th Leg., R.S., art. Il, at 11-131 (Health and Human
Services Section, Special Provisions for all Health and Human Services Agencies, 847). HHSC
calculated the proposed payment rates in accordance with the rate setting methodologies codified
at title 1, section 355.112 of the TAC, relating to Attendant Compensation Rate Enhancement
and title 1, section 355.9090 of the TAC, relating to Reimbursement Methodology for
Community First Choice.

Should you have any questions regarding the information in this document, please contact Doug
Odle, Rate Analyst at (512) 707-6086 or doug.odle@hhsc.state.tx.us.
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